Korotkoff Sounds

  • Phase I – the initial appeance of faint, repetitive tapping sounds that grandually increase in intensity for at least two consecutive beats (the systolic blood pressure)
  • Phase II – a brief period during which the sounds soften and acquire a swishing quality. In some patients the sounds may even disappear briefly. This is known as an auscultatory gap
  • Phase III – the return of sharper sounds, which may even be stronger than those in Phase I
  • Phase IV – distinct, abrupt muffling sounds that become soft and blowing in quality
  • Phase V – all sounds finally disappearing (the point of diastolic blood pressure)

Thanks to Nursing in Practice 62 (2011)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s